Architecture

With his museum situated on the Rhine, the architect Mario Botta created an unusual stage for Tinguely’s works. In the huge central hall alone there is space for twenty machine-sculptures. After visiting the Museum, the historical Solitude Park with its centenary trees, the promenade along the Rhine and the Bistro «Chez Jeannot» are an invitation to relax, stroll and enjoy the moment.

«With its situation on the right bank of the river, where the Rhine forms the outer border of a large district of the city, the Museum creates a new order within a rather questionable urban design alongside the highway. The rectangular museum occupies the entire eastern part of the Solitude Park. The four sides of the building each relate in a specific manner to the surrounding spaces.»
Mario Botta

>> Further reading
>> Facts and Figures

Architecture

With his museum situated on the Rhine, the architect Mario Botta created an unusual stage for Tinguely’s works. In the huge central hall alone there is space for twenty machine-sculptures. After visiting the Museum, the historical Solitude Park with its centenary trees, the promenade along the Rhine and the Bistro «Chez Jeannot» are an invitation to relax, stroll and enjoy the moment.

«With its situation on the right bank of the river, where the Rhine forms the outer border of a large district of the city, the Museum creates a new order within a rather questionable urban design alongside the highway. The rectangular museum occupies the entire eastern part of the Solitude Park. The four sides of the building each relate in a specific manner to the surrounding spaces.»
Mario Botta

>> Further reading
>> Facts and Figures

Architektur

Der Architekt Mario Botta hat mit seinem am Rhein gelegenen Museum einen ungewöhnlichen Spiel-Raum für Tinguelys Werke geschaffen. Allein in der gewaltigen zentralen Halle finden bis zu zwanzig Maschinenskulpturen Platz. Nach dem Museumsbesuch laden der historische Solitude-Park mit seinem alten Baumbestand, die Rheinpromenade und das Bistro «Chez Jeannot» zum Entspannen, Flanieren und Geniessen ein.

«Mit seiner Lage auf der rechten Seite des Flusses, wo der Rhein einen grossen städtischen Bereich abgrenzt, sorgt das Museum für die Neuordnung einer ziemlich fragwürdigen urbanen Gestaltung am Rande der Autobahn. Das rechteckige Museum belegt die gesamte Ostflanke des Solitude-Parks. Die vier Fassaden des Gebäudes stellen eine jeweils andersgeartete räumliche Beziehung zur Umgebung her.»
Mario Botta

>> Lesen Sie mehr
>> Zahlen und Fakten zum Gebäude

Architektur

Der Architekt Mario Botta hat mit seinem am Rhein gelegenen Museum einen ungewöhnlichen Spiel-Raum für Tinguelys Werke geschaffen. Allein in der gewaltigen zentralen Halle finden bis zu zwanzig Maschinenskulpturen Platz. Nach dem Museumsbesuch laden der historische Solitude-Park mit seinem alten Baumbestand, die Rheinpromenade und das Bistro «Chez Jeannot» zum Entspannen, Flanieren und Geniessen ein.

«Mit seiner Lage auf der rechten Seite des Flusses, wo der Rhein einen grossen städtischen Bereich abgrenzt, sorgt das Museum für die Neuordnung einer ziemlich fragwürdigen urbanen Gestaltung am Rande der Autobahn. Das rechteckige Museum belegt die gesamte Ostflanke des Solitude-Parks. Die vier Fassaden des Gebäudes stellen eine jeweils andersgeartete räumliche Beziehung zur Umgebung her.»
Mario Botta

>> Lesen Sie mehr
>> Zahlen und Fakten zum Gebäude